LED intensity wiring project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by DarkneSS, May 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarkneSS

Thread Starter New Member

May 19, 2011
    Let me do this the proper way this time...

What I have is a set of orange leds and I would like to be able to make increase and decrease in brightness based off the output from a 12v source.

I have limited wiring/circuits knowledge so treat me like a caveman.

If you make a diagram or have info I can actually put it together, its the designing part that I am a caveman at!
  2. KJ6EAD

Apr 30, 2011
    How many LEDs and what are their specifications?
  3. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    And since I assume a 12 V source is always at about 12 V what is the control input?

BTW, a recent product of mine is a tightly spec'd dimable LED; the tight spec was to make it's brightness equal to an incandescent bulb it is intended to replace. A PWM control can do the dimming for you: Max brightness is always on (PWM=100%), and anything dimmer is just the same percent ratio, i.e. 25% brightness is a PWM of 25%
  4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
  5. SgtWookie

Jul 17, 2007
    Well, this appears to be the same request as this thread:
    ... that involved using automotive engine control inputs to vary the brightness of added LEDs on the rear of the car.

That is not a project which we can discuss on these Forums.

It is certainly not a project for a beginner to attempt.

Automotive electronics are subjected to some of the most brutal conditions on the planet; temperature extremes, corrosive fluids/gases, shock, vibration, you name it. On top of that, the electrical system can and does experience voltage "spikes" up to 60v routinely. If a circuit is not designed with that in mind, it won't last long.