LED install troubleshooting. Headlight Halo Replacement Lights Keep Burning Out

The Luminator

Joined Mar 24, 2016
I am helping a friend with his headlights on his 04 chevy silverado. He ordered an aftermarket set of HeadLamps that have the halo design around the angel eye projector and the low beam light as well. The original design was rather poor and being a beginner electronics engineer I thought I would attempt to re-wire the fixtures. I did my fair share of research on this particular company's design and found everyone else ordering this specific brand were also having issues with the led lights shorting out. There was a small component box with the epoxy to keep from seeing what the circuit is but from running a few tests I can only determine that it is more than likely just a simple voltage divider. After to much time spent on trying to repair the existing circuit without any luck, I went online and special ordered a pack of 12v 3.5mm water white led lights each pre-fab'd with a 1k resistor, soldered and wrapped and I was sure I was going to be able to wire these in straight to the parking light wires in the truck and fix them permanently to the halo rings and not have another worry about them ... they lasted 3 days before one burnt out then its pair .. now both sets of led lights intended to light the high beam halo rings are burnt out.. I thought from my experience with vehicles that the electrical varies approx. 9 to 14 volts which should be handled without issue according to the specs of the leds I ordered. Is there something I am missing here .. why is this simple dinky little circuit causing me such a headache. someone claimed that with the alternator being 3 phase that it could produce surges of up to 34 volts .. if this is true then what are my next step's in the design? Must I use a linear voltage regulator along with the led lights .. all I want is for the 8 little accent led lights to work properly and I have never had such trouble with my LED l