LED indicator circuit problems

gtitim

Joined Jan 21, 2009
Hi, i found this site whilst looking for a solution to the following problem.

The purpose of the circuit is to indicate when electronic VIS motors on my car are turning on and off, so i know they are working correctly.

I have built the following circuit as per this diagram:

http://s268.photobucket.com/albums/jj23/turbotim511/?action=view&current=VIS2.jpg

I have however changed the resistor (bottom left) for a 2k1 resistor as the designer recommended it.

The problem i am having is that I get 12vthrough the LED and diode, but 0v after the resistor which means the circuit is not complete.

How do i test the resistor to check i did not burn it out when i soldered it in, as i am no expert. I have a multimeter but no idea which setting i would need it on, or where to place the probes to check it.

If i can master this, I hope to be able to design more gadgets for the vehicle, but am rapidly losing faith in my ability!!

Any help is massively appreciated.

Tim

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
The illustrated circuit is pretty cruddy. Each diode and LED should have a separate resistor. 1k3 would be a good value for 12 volts, but any value from 1k0 to 1k6 will work.

The earth side of the resistor should be at 0 volts (your chassis ground). Applying +12 to the anode of each LED will enable current through the resistor that will illuminate the LED. You want individual resistors, as the circuit shown will just get dimmer as each LED comes on.

gtitim

Joined Jan 21, 2009
Only two inputs will be on at one time, so i am not worried about how bright the LEDS are.

The LEDS have inbuilt resistors, the extra resistor is purely to prevent spiking to the ECU as a bit of overkill protection.