LED Flash w/o IC

specterdragon

Joined Nov 13, 2007
Hey all!!

I've been digging in the forum for a basic circuit that will flash an LED on and off without the use of an IC (such as a 555 timer). I'm new to electronics and igured that if I could build something like this from scratch, it might make more sense to me. Assuming this is possible, does anyone have any sugestions or scematics laying around that will accomplish this goal?

Thanks!
Specterdragon

Art

Joined Sep 10, 2007
Two transistors and a capacitor, but unfortunately, don't have the schematic,
but it was an early Dick Smith Funway project.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Look for hobby circuits with unijunction transistors, like the 2N2646. You can make a relaxation oscillator with two resistors and a capacitor.

mozikluv

Joined Jan 22, 2004
here's how it works, based on the schem presented by "eplanet":

1. R3 is the current limiter for your LED
2. R2 & C3 are your timing components, it determines the flash rate
3. R1 is your Q1 bias resistor
4. D1 is rather optional, it can be omitted. if used, it certainly will limit the feedback to Q1 to 0.65v and also will result to a higher duty cycle
5. Q2 is your LED driver

moz

specterdragon

Joined Nov 13, 2007
hi
this is a simple LED flasher but this is one LED.but if you want to use 2 LED you must use 2 capacitor.
Thanks for the assist, Art! That actually helps me! LOL (Yes - I'm completely new to this :) )

OK, Ephanet... can you help me understand the math a little?
I tried redrawing the circuit, taking out the transistors (Q1&2) and the diode (D1), just to try and understand the basic flow of the circuit. (With the diode in place, I didn't see a path for the cap to charge, but I'll get back to that in a moment).