LED Emergency Vehicle Flasher

emtffkev

Joined Sep 17, 2007
Ok guys (and gals?) I am by far a rookie in the hobby electronics world so forgive any hints of ignorance I might throw out there.

I am a paramedic/firefighter and I've always toyed witht he idea of making some high output LED strobe/flashers to put on my vehicle. The ones out there are very expensive and very overpriced and I'd like to save a couple dollars and learn some along the way.

I've got two types of led's I'd like to try and make, the first being just a high output flasher that flashes in a pulse type pattern.

* = flash
Something like this:
3 quick flashes and then a pause

the other type I'd like to be able to pull off is just a flasher but it would be for the headlamps. I'd want to have two of these and have them alternate back and forth.

R L R L R L R L

Something like that.....maybe even have the ability to change it if I want to to:

RR LL RR LL RR LL

There is a commercially made on that does similar to what I'd like for the second one, you can take a peek at the design at this ebay link...I don't think the guy has a regular website. This is the link.

I'd be glad to give anything I may have left out. I'm not asking for this just to be handed to me, I like to learn and I'll do some brain work to figure it out, I just don't know what/where to start.

HarveyH42

Joined Jul 22, 2007
You should consider a microcontroller, a 60 cent chip could do all those patterns, and it's a very simple program (my third program I did when I just got started with AVR). Actually most microcontroller tutorials for beginners, start you of with simply flashing an LED. So you wouldn't have to get into it all that deep to get exactly what you want. The chip programmer can be made very cheap and easy with a parallel cable and a few descrete parts. The software for the AVR series is free, believe PIC has a free trial version, which should be good enough. It's really not as bad as it sounds.