LED driving for Solar Simulation

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by kgon13, Jul 4, 2014.

1. kgon13

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 4, 2014
    I'm currently working on a solar simulator as a part of a design project for school. I'm actually studying physics but this project has me designing a circuit for driving 3w led's in parallel. I've done some research and testing and have found that buckpuck's are going to give me the highest efficiency constant current I need for driving the led's. Here's a brief overview of my driver design requirements/plan:

1. 12 LED's in parallel (discrete wavelengths on each string covering ranging over 350-1010nm, ~3v drop/led, .7-1A per LED)

2. Battery powered (thinking Li ion in parallel but haven't tested this yet), right now I'm testing with an adjustable power supply.

3. Arduino PWM for dimming control

4. So far have tested different driving methods, but buckpuck works most efficiently for thermal management, consistency and efficiency.

I have been testing LED's using the LDU1416s1000/LDU1416s700 buckpuck which work fine for driving 1 LED.

Circuit for 1 LED (with filter):

My issue is that they require an LC input filter for stable current output and when I try to rig 2 or more chips in parallel I'm getting unexpected current outputs and I have burned out a few LED's in the process. I think my problem is with the LC filter. Do I need 1 filter for all pucks or 1 filter for each string of the circuit?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer.

2. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013