LED driver and switch advice

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by supakpow, Sep 3, 2008.

1. supakpow

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 3, 2008
    Hi, I'm an extreme novice with electronics so some help would be really great. I have avoided posting in any forums, trying to figure this out on my own but I think I need to throw in the towel and get help!

Here's my project:

I'm putting together a light using (3) luxeon V stars (5w, 6.84vf, 700ma to 1000ma if pwm),
    in series, (Would it be better to run these in parallel instead, given the battery specs)
    14.8v or 11.1v LiPo battery (1500mAhr 8C max discharge),
    Barantec piezo switch.
    (see attached spec sheets)

My goal is to be able to dim from 100% to 75% to 50% to off. 4 states, (0-100%-75%-50%-0) Using the piezo like a momentary switch to scroll to each setting with another click.

From the research that i've done I think that I can use the Luxdrive 3021/3023 LED driver to at least drive it at 100% (see luxeon spec sheet)
    Could this driver be turned on/off and/or be made to dim using a piezo switch? I'm using the piezo because it's waterproof and extremely durable. (waterproof light)

I know that a potentiometer can be used with this driver but is there anything that can take the place of the potentiometer (hard to waterproof vs piezo ip 68), such as a microcontroller or PIC, so that I would still have the benefit of the features designed specifically for high power LEDs, (such as voltage regulation and auto current shutoff when the battery drops below the batteries discharge limit) and accomplish the 4 states (0-100-75-50-0) that I would like to have?
    It would be preferable to have the driver reduce voltage to accomplish the reduced power states so as to lengthen the life of the battery instead of using resitors etc...

Here is the page from luxdrive that shows all their drivers and features.
    http://www.leddynamics.com/LuxDrive/faq_how-do-i-choose-a-driver