LED Displays, Hard To find Data sheets

kbyrne

Joined Dec 10, 2011
I have a couple of projects in mind that call for Common Cathode LED displays. In my stock is 21 pieces I bought in a grab bag type buy to experiment with and here lies the problems:
1. Common Anode
2. Data Sheet search only shows up MAN59234 Common Anode No Decimal points. I have two versions and both have two decimal points each.
3. Number 1 sample Top row 727 space F, Bottom row MAN59234
Number 2 sample Top row Space 640, Bottom row MAN59234 space F
Question what is the difference as they both have 7 legs on the side of lettering and 8 legs on the other side, and the data sheet states no decimal point but both have two decimal points. The data sheet also shows 8 legs on the side of lettering
but my part has 7. I have the part number right but it might be discontinued so how can I use these up in a circuit by a change from Common Cathode to Common Anode with out specs as I am new to electronics. I have Data sheet for anyone to view if need be.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I have the part number right but it might be discontinued so how can I use these up in a circuit by a change from Common Cathode to Common Anode with out specs as I am new to electronics. I have Data sheet for anyone to view if need be.
For CA displays, the segment drivers will sink current; you'll need to modify the circuit to source current. The digit drivers will source current and you'll need to modify the circuit to sink.

Post the datasheet and the circuit using CC displays for more specific suggestions.

kbyrne

Joined Dec 10, 2011
This is the only Data Sheet I could find for MAN59234 but note my parts have two decimal points, this data sheet is for a part no decimal point at all. How do I determine which leg is which. That is my first question as well as how can I find the right data sheet.

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
How do I determine which leg is which.