LED counting circuit

Sparky49

Joined Jul 16, 2011
Hi all,

after a wee break, I'm back with more questions for you!

I'm try to design a simple money box where a push of a button adds ten pence to a total amount.

To do this, I'm planning to using a monostable circuit (to avoid 'bounce') which provides an input to a clock on a counter. This then counts up to nine, until the next 'input' when it resets itself to zero, and counts 'up one' on the next counter.

I'm trying to avoid micro controllers, as I'm not experienced enough for them yet.

The question is, would the circuit I've drawn work?

Could anyone recommend a good counting IC?

Thanks in advance,

Sparky

Attachments

RiJoRI

Joined Aug 15, 2007
CR = Chip Right
CM = Chip Middle
CL = Chip Left

(1) CR will count from 0 to 8. Upon the next pulse, the AND gate output will go HIGH, resetting CR.

(2) What happens when CM's AND gate goes HIGH? Do you see the signal going not only to the reset pins, but also to the clock input? You may have a race condition here.

(3) It's been several millenia since I worked on this type of stuff, but try looking for a decade counter with a carry output. Feed the carry signal to the clock input of the next chip.

HTH,
--Rich

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The 4040 outputs binary counts; you really need decimal.

If your output will be 7-segment LED's, consider using 4543's and 4553's. The 4553 is a 3-digit decimal counter, and the 4543 is a decimal to 7-segment display driver.

Here is a link to OnSemi's datasheet for the MC14543B:
http://www.onsemi.com/pub_link/Collateral/MC14543B-D.PDF
Here is a link to OnSemi's datasheet for the MC14553B:
http://www.onsemi.com/pub_link/Collateral/MC14553B-D.PDF
On page 6, figure 5, there is a schematic for a 6-digit counter display using two of each of these ICs, plus some transistors and resistors.