led circuit help

qeddy84

Joined Apr 14, 2009
hey guys great site . Im new to electronics and dont no much about them bt im getting married nxt year and am desighning a cake with my fianc'ee and thers lights on it i was woundering cud anybody supply me with a diagram for a multipal led circuit ther cud be a minimum of 8 leds on one circuit and a maximum of 20 in another there will be up to 6 circuits in allid need to no every thing from switchs to resisters. oh and i want to power it from 9v's if that will work any info would be great fellas :cool:

Since you are new to electronics, I would suggest you use off the shelf items that require minimal work and only a small investment of money. There is an endless supply of options to choose from on ebay, that is where I would start. Just search for LED kit, or blinking LED(s).

The key to LED's is to learn the following: Ohm's Law and the forward voltage of an LED....with that knowledge you can do anything with LED's.

Good luck and have fun!

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
OK, first, please read this, with special attention to Figures 1 and 2...

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

OK, I'm still unclear as to what you want to do. Figure out a pattern with a rough sketch (on a cake?) and the colors, then we'll work it out.

If you are wanting special effects such as flashing it can be done, but my advice is to start simple and work your way up.

The reference to Figures 1 and 2 in the above article is because they explain how resistors are used with LEDs, resistors are a required part of the circuit.

If you don't understand something, please ask, and we'll do our best to make it clear. This site is about nothing else if not learning.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
White LEDs use about 3.5V each. Two can be connected in series and in series with a current-limiting resistor to make one string. Each string uses 20mA. One 9V alkaline battery can power 4 strings for one hour with the LEDs dimming as the battery runs down.