LED array Question?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by judgeroy, Jul 10, 2011.

1. judgeroy

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 10, 2011
    Hello Everyone, noob here and was looking for some help with some LED lights! I'm hoping for a design but maybe this question is not allowed. I am not building an array and understand some of the concerns posted on this subject of automotive issues. Actually I do not think this applies to the issue I have at hand.
    So here goes, I have stock third brake lights from an automobile, I want to add them to my motorcycle as ADDED, ADDITIONAL, lighting to the rear of this bike. These units are rated at 12vdc and are nice and brite of the proper color. Adding a resistor of 180ohms dims to a perfect tail/running light. Which would be energized when key/on. I want to also energize this same LED from the brake switch and turn signal. That's the trick! diodes to block the second or third input to the single input LED.
    I'm asking for some help with this circuit, I was an ET in the Navy but that was many,many moons ago,lol 1974-1977 USS Guam LPH-9. Haven't worked much with electronics since I hired into a toolmaker apprenticeship in 1981. Still have some knowledge left but DIMM,lol I do know you cannot feed 12vdc on three wires to one without blowing some fuses.
    I'm thinking I need some paralell resistance to the diodes, or maybe zener diodes. I know this is a simple problem for someone and if I was still working at GM I could get the problem solved. Been retired for a few years now and have lost touch with my electronic guru buddies that helped me with other projects in the past.
    Well, thanks for taking the time to read this and maybe it's not a banded subject matter and I can get some help lighting up the back of my motorcycle. Judge

2. iONic

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 16, 2007