Led aquarium lighting - wiring advice

stuuitjc

Joined Jun 25, 2016
Hi there,

This is my first attempt at wiring LED's and need some advice on what driver to use to power them. I have purchased 12 3W LED's of eBay that I was hoping to wire in series.

I have 4 white LED's with forward voltage of 3-3.9V and current IF=700-750mA

4 red LED's with forward voltage of 2.2-2.6V and current IF=750mA

4 blue LED's with forward voltage 3-3.7V and current IF=750mA

I am very confused by all the numbers. Is it going to be possible to wire them in a series of they have varying voltages?

What kind of driver would I need if I am using mains power?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Attachments

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
If you run them in series, you won't need to worry about the individual voltages, but the total voltage will be of concern. If you run them in series they will all be driven by the same current.

Your LEDs will last a lot longer if you heatsink them well and run well below the maximum allowable current. The output of the driver should be isolated from the mains.
I think the one at the URL below would work well.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-85V-265V...609082?hash=item1eb3442f3a:g:4dQAAOSwmmxW2OKM
Also note the product label in the image below.

stuuitjc

Joined Jun 25, 2016
Thanks so much for replying. So when it says (1-3) x 1W does that mean 1 driver will only be able to power 1 3W LED?

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
The example I cited outputs s constant 350 ma for any load from 2v to 12v; the voltage adjusts automatically to keep the current constant.

If you use a power supply you cited supplies a constant voltage and would require additional circuitry (the mimimum being a resistor) to limit the current through the LEDs.

You can use either approach but I think you would have less trouble with a constant current supply.

stuuitjc

Joined Jun 25, 2016
Hello,

The driver you are showing is for 12 Volts led strips.