Learn how to use oscope: Can anyone help?

Mart

Joined Feb 11, 2011
I'm also a beginner in Electronics Technology. Though I recently graduated from the program, I still don't know much about oscope. But mastering Oscilloscope is one of the requirements anywhere I apply for a job. This becomes a challenge for me. Also, I don't have any financial mean to get one at this time. If anyone has one, can he help in teaching me how to use it? Or does anyone know where I can learn that with some practices?
Thanks for your time and consideration.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I take it that you don't have one.

Have a read-through of "Module 16 - Introduction to Test Equipment", here:
http://www.phy.davidson.edu/instrumentation/NEETS.htm
These modules were designed by the US Navy to get technicians proficient as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, just reading a book won't get you the hands-on type of experience that you really need.

Where are you located? It's a good idea to put your general location in your profile; at least your country and state or province; city/township is purely optional.

Mart

Joined Feb 11, 2011
Thanks for your quick replies. Also, thanks so much for the given Navy Link. It helped a lot, but the only problem is that I don't have any oscilloscope right now. It doesn't matter whether it is Analog or Digital Oscilloscope. I know the theory. I would like someone who can assist me in putting the theory into practice with his or her own oscope. I live in Bellevue, WA. - USA.
Thanks everyone.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You can get a DSO Nano for $80, which is good up to about 50kHz (1Mbit Sampling rate) portable scope.

You can find analog scopes with 25-50Mhz bandwidth (2-5Mhz useful) off eBay for about the same cost.

Playing with one on various circuits and building circuits is the best way to learn.