Lead Acid Charging

haseebhm

Joined Feb 19, 2010
I have recently made a charging circuit for my 2.5Ah Lead Acid battery using LM317 IC. Please check the circuit diagram at:
http://electronics-diy.com/schematics/893/battery-charger.jpg

My current circuit doesn't have the transistor Q1. In this case, the charging is too slow. However, I want to charge my battery to 80% within 3-4 hours. After this time, the power goes off again and the battery needs to be charged during this time so that my router keeps on running during the power outage time.
I'm an engineer but not electronics engineer and that's why I need help. Would this circuit charge my battery in the specified time ? If yes, I would add the transistor Q1. Any help in this regard will be appreciated :)

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
I have recently made a charging circuit for my 2.5Ah Lead Acid battery using LM317 IC. Please check the circuit diagram at:
http://electronics-diy.com/schematics/893/battery-charger.jpg

My current circuit doesn't have the transistor Q1.

Then it won't work as designed.Q1 is how it regulates the charging current. You might post a schematic of what you actually built up.

You don't say what the source is driving the circuit. An LM317 can drive something like 0.5 - 1.5A depending on input-output voltage differential.

FYI: that circuit need some output capacitance, bigger the better. 0.22uF is not nearly enough.

gerty

Joined Aug 30, 2007
Then it won't work as designed.Q1 is how it regulates the charging current. ou might post a schematic of what you actually built up.

You don't say what the source is driving the circuit. An LM317 can drive something like 0.5 - 1.5A depending on input-output voltage differential.

FYI: that circuit need some output capacitance, bigger the better. 0.22uF is not nearly enough.
That's what I was trying to get out of him, but he hasn't been back..

haseebhm

Joined Feb 19, 2010