LDR to turn on a strobe light

bafuller83

Joined Dec 4, 2012
Hello, I want to make a circuit, that when dark, will switch on a mini emergency strobe light. It is the type of strobe that when charged to a certain point, emits a flash. The more power it recieves, the faster the flash. It runs off of two AA batteries.

I want there to also be a manual on/off switch, so that I can turn it off on the nights that it is not in use.

Below is a circuit I got online, which I believe powers a LED. Is it possible to replace the LED with the strobe.

Are there other simple circuits that could do the same thing?

I am very new to electronics and have tried reading some books on the subject but am having a hard time on my own. So I am looking to you guys as my mentors!

Thanks a lot, any input is appreciated!

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
A strobe is a different beast all together requiring 300VDC.
You would be better off to stay with a high intensity white LED.

Why do you want the light to flash?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
So your strobe light is self contained, and you just need to power it on and off depending on the light level?

bafuller83

Joined Dec 4, 2012
A strobe is a different beast all together requiring 300VDC.
You would be better off to stay with a high intensity white LED.

Why do you want the light to flash?
I want it to be a regular strobe, but activated but darkness. It needs to be able to be seen over a mile away so I want it to be a strobe.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I have done this before.
Take a photo flash unit. There is a storage capacitor of about 300uF at 300v that needs to be charged up for each flash.

Replace this cap with something smaller, say 47uF at 300v allowing it to charge more rapidly.

A feedback circuit triggering a diac will cause the flash to self trigger.
The LDR circuitry can be added for dark trigger.

bafuller83

Joined Dec 4, 2012