LCD TV Power Circuit...need help please?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by NOMFET, May 26, 2010.

1. NOMFET

Thread Starter New Member

May 26, 2010
    Ok. So I've got a power supply board for some 37" Vizio TV, that supposedly won't power on. Now, I've located a fuse (T4AH250V) that is reading as no signal through the fuse. I wanted just to test it out, but all my other fuses here at the house are like T3.15AL250V or 10-15 amp fuses. How specific are fuses? I'm self taught with electronics, and can do a decent amount of troubleshooting on circuitry.

I know I don't want to have a jumper wire in place (as it may damage the cap's on the other side) or use the higher amp fuses. Any suggestions?

Thanks

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Use only the proper rated fuse for the device.

As you correctly decided to not do, never jumper across a fuse.

If the fuse blew, it could be a couple of things:
    1) There was a transient spike on the mains supply which caused it to blow.
    2) There is a fault in the circuit.

In the case of 1) above, replacing the fuse with the same part number may restore the circuit to normal operation.

In the case of 2) above, replacing the fuse with the same part number will result in another blown fuse, which will protect the still-good parts of the circuit.

Never, ever, EVER use a fuse that is not appropriately rated for the device in question. To do so invites disaster. I am not kidding.

NOMFET likes this.
  3. NOMFET

May 26, 2010
    Roger that! Ok, so looking at the fuse I see "Buss" along with a bunch of logos (Bussman, although can't locate it on their site); and "T4A H 250V". It's tube shaped, and I would say its glass, but its milky colored. It also has a blue stripe in the very center, all the way around.

There's a similar fuse on the board, "T6.3A H 250V", the only visable difference is that it has a red stripe instead of blue.