LCD Display Problem on 1st line.

Terry8345

Joined Oct 26, 2012
This is my first post, so here it goes. I'm an Electrical Engineer and have many years of experience desiginning digital circuits, but these LCD displays are really confusing. I have a 4x20 display that I actually got working. The problem I'm having is that I can't get it to display a character in the 1st position on the 1st line (address 0x80). It allways displays starting with the 2nd character position.

Some particulars:
I'm using a FTDI Vinculum VNC2 Microcontroller and programming in C.
The display is the standard HD44780U controller.
I have it configured for 8-bit data bus.
The interface is the standard 16-pin interface.

I've attached my LCD_Control module source code and header file. The LCD_Init() is called from the main loop in another file. All this program does is initialize the LCD and display a title message.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Terry

Attachments

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
This is my first post, so here it goes. I'm an Electrical Engineer and have many years of experience desiginning digital circuits, but these LCD displays are really confusing. I have a 4x20 display that I actually got working. The problem I'm having is that I can't get it to display a character in the 1st position on the 1st line (address 0x80). It allways displays starting with the 2nd character position.

Some particulars:
I'm using a FTDI Vinculum VNC2 Microcontroller and programming in C.
The display is the standard HD44780U controller.
I have it configured for 8-bit data bus.
The interface is the standard 16-pin interface.

I've attached my LCD_Control module source code and header file. The LCD_Init() is called from the main loop in another file. All this program does is initialize the LCD and display a title message.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Terry
Not familar with the FTDI Vinculum VNC2 nor have I looked at your code but it sounds like a classic issue of mistaking base 0 with base 1.