LCD contrast control

extravert

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Hello

I am an embedded software engineer and can cope with things digital, but struggle a bit when it comes to analogue and transistor biasing - especially where negative voltages are involved.

I am using a graphics STN LCD panel and want to control the contrast. The panel has a negative voltage generator output (Vout) and a contrast control pin (Vo). The datasheet says just put a pot between the two. However, I want to be able to control contrast from software, and digital pots won't work outside of their supply range. I have a DAC output from my processor that I can control between 0 and 3.3V, but how do I use this to control the contrast voltage I need? I'd be grateful if someone could suggest a circuit to do this. I'm sure it's just a transistor and a few resistors!

From the data sheet...

http://docs-europe.electrocomponents.com/webdocs/06dd/0900766b806dda11.pdf

Vdd-Vo is 16V. I will be using Vdd of 3.3V. It doesn't say what Vout is, but I guess it's a few volts more negative than -16V.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Wow, you have a DAC on board? Cool, what processor? That's gonna help lots.

First off I would suggest you put that pot on the breadboard to see what range of voltages you need for the full range of contrast. I say that because you may not get sufficient resolution to control this digitally of you just convert (0 to 3.3V) to (0 to -16V).

Give us those numbers and I bet several people will suggest things to do. You basically just need a simple amplifier, a couple of transistors & resistors or maybe a cheap op amp.

extravert

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Wow, you have a DAC on board? Cool, what processor? That's gonna help lots.
Processor is a STM32F100, so not a penny pinching PIC. 2 12 bit DAC's on chip. I'll be able to control the contrast to 2048 levels :D.