LC Oscillator that uses a coil that I can wind

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
I would like to build a simple LC oscillator (Colpitts, maybe) that uses a coil that I can wind using magnet wire. I don't have any winding equipment, so my preference would be for a coil with an air core wound by hand. I would like the oscillator to operate in the human hearing range, say about 2 kHz, and be able to drive a speaker. I have some experience with the LM386, and can build an amplifier if someone will supply a schematic for the oscillator and the instructions for winding the coil. If possible, I would prefer the coil to be wound on an air core of about 1" diameter.

Thanks for any help.

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008
Start by picking values for L and C. Maybe pick your capacitor from what you already have or can get, then from that, calculate the L you need to resonate at that frequency.

Then go online and find a coil-winding formula that will tell you how many turns you will need for a given length and diameter to get that value of L.

Don't worry about being too exact with all the dimensions because your capacitance value itself may not be given to better than 10% or so.

But get an estimate of how many turns you will need, and the length of wire you'll need. That would be a good start.

There are lots of ways to wind a coil, and some are pretty simple. I've wound coils by clamping a form in an electric screwdriver and feeding the wire onto a plastic form by hand.

If your oscillator needs a tapped coil, it's nice to wind your own because you can build in any tap you want, or even several if you want some tuning ability.

That much should get you started.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
Unless I've screwed up badly: coil form 1 in dia, 1 in long, with 1.5 in dia end plates, filled with # 26 enameled wire, about 841 turns to give 14.5 mH tuned with .5 μF to about 2 kHz. Try a 6 μF cap in series with .5 for feed back tap. Schematic escaps me for now.

Meixner

Joined Sep 26, 2011