Latches, Flip Flops and what nots?

carnage123

Joined Feb 18, 2006
I am currently reviewing and trying to understand latches and flip flops. So far, its fairly easy to understand the functions. But do we really have to know all these steps in these circuits. I mean, I get enough out of programming already, and now this stuff is really interesting and all, but for a test, do we just need to know a basic understanding of how it works, and not a whole essay on one circuit. I also want to ask because memory and cpu's contain millions of these things in them and I am just wondering what is the point of learning this unless I work for Intel, AMD, Asus or any other computer company. I'm in the networking program and even though Digital Electronics is my favorite course I'm only learning the basic concepts, without actually teaching us how to make/fix "real" circuits (mainboards, cpu's etc...) I am starting to find this course useless in perspective to my work field. Also, the fact is I'm only taking introductory course to digital, it ends there....I wish it could go on next semester but because this is as far as I'm going, the fact is its pointless, useless and a waste of my time. Can anyone here who has done networking honestly say they have fixed (Even possible without high tech equiptment and absolute skill in soldering???) main memory, CPU, Flash Memory, MB, Chips etc... without first thinking about the less time consuming alternative of replacing it?

chesart1

Joined Jan 23, 2006
Originally posted by carnage123@Mar 21 2006, 06:40 PM