Laser or LED

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Paulquinn, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Paulquinn

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 28, 2013
    Hey guys. I'm fairly new to electronics
    Just getting my feet wet. I am attempting my first project and bought a
    980nm laser module online. My question is, how can I be sure it is in fact
    A laser and not just an LED? Because its 980nm I can only see it
    Through my camera. But there is no beam when I pass it through smoke
    Which got me thinking that it might just be an LED
    Any help would be great thanks.

2. pwdixon

Oct 11, 2012
    If you can't see the light normally why would you think you'd be able to see a beam in smoke? Smoke isn't going to shift the wavelength into the visible I'm afraid. A camera has a wider range of acceptable wavelengths and in fact translates the invisible to visible at these wavelengths so I'd imagine you might see a beam through the camera in smoke.

3. snowdrifter

Aug 13, 2013
    980 nm is well into the IR spectrum. As Dixon said regardless of whether you shine it through smoke or not, it will only cause the light to disperse off of whatever particles are in the air, but it still won't be able to see it with your naked eye.

As for finding out if it's a laser vs. and LED, you could always contact the seller to be sure. Or shine it on an object and look through a camera(some work better than others for this).

Could you post a picture of what you got?

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Assuming you can detect the beam with something...an LED would be useless at 10 meters, but a laser would still appear to be a good, solid, illumination spot.

5. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    And in case it isn't obvious, don't aim the laser directly into your camera :eek:, but onto something that would show a reflected and diffused IR "spot". I assume white paper would work as it does for visible light.

6. vpoko

Jan 5, 2012