Laptop Power Supply from 12V car battery

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by hazim, Jul 2, 2010.

1. hazim

Thread Starter Active Member

Jan 3, 2008
    Hi all

I want to build the circuit below to use it as a power supply for my laptop from 12V car battery power source. The circuit is said to handle 65W (19VDC 3.4A). My laptop power adaptor output is rated 19VDC 4.74A (90W). So I want to increase the output power from the circuit. Actually I'm new to smps circuits, and so I don't know whether the inductor should be changed to increase the output power (current) or not. D2 is MBR1645 (16A 45V), it's not available and I'll use MBR2045 (20A) instead. By the way, why they use much higher current semiconductors than the actual current in the circuit? to reduce heating??). Using 6800uF for C8 my solve the problem or what to do?
    If the input voltage varies from approx. 11V to approx. 14V, how much will this affect the output voltage?

Any help is appreciated.

Regards,
    Hazim

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  2. Ante

Dec 25, 2009
    Even if your original power adaptor produces 90W its not necessarily what the demand is.
    I would find out first how much power the computer really consumes, perhaps (and very likely) the 3.4A may suffice.

3. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    I agree. It will have a higher demand during battery charging cycles, but the power supply is probably over-rated to keep it cooler.

4. Ante

Dec 25, 2009
    Or maybe you could go for another circuit with higher output current like this one:

[​IMG]

hazim likes this.
  5. hazim

Jan 3, 2008
    Maybe you are right. I don't know the real power consumption of the laptop, it depends.. It's Toshiba Satellite A300 and the consumption may be so high sometimes (high performance, watching dvd, high CPU usage...etc).
    I'm thinking to elimenate the protection part of the circuit and put a 5A fuse instead, in case there is over current/short circuit. What do you think?