Laplace Transform confusion

Discussion in 'Math' started by naickej4, Jul 5, 2016.

1. naickej4

Thread Starter Member

Jul 12, 2015
    Hello,
    Please can you advise me on the below question from my text book. Since the text book only provides answers for odd numbered questions, I am not able to check my answer while I am studying Laplace. I typed the question out in MS WORD and did a screen shot.
    Must I expand the function then apply the Laplace or do I just apply Laplace with expanding?

Thank you.

Find the Laplace transform of the following piece-wise function:

f(t) = (t+2)^2 , t > -2

0 , t < -2

upload_2016-7-5_8-2-50.png

2. anhnha

Apr 19, 2012
    First, I think you should check the condition when the shift theorem works (when and how it can be applied).
    Second, you can expand the function and compute the Laplace transform of each.
    However, your final result is wrong.

3. naickej4

Thread Starter Member

Jul 12, 2015
    Hi Anhnha,

Thank you, but please can you tell me how I would properly use the shift theorem. My text book does not clearly provide many examples.

So if I expand the function and compute the Laplace transform I get the below.

upload_2016-7-5_12-58-8.png

This is the answer that I now worked out, is this correct?

I am getting confused with regards the Heaviside Laplace problems and those that contain the period restrictions.
    Please can some explain to me where will the t > -2 and t <-2 come into my equation or will it ever come into my equation?

Last edited: Jul 5, 2016
  4. anhnha

Apr 19, 2012
    I don't think you can apply the theorem directly as you did above. For the theorem to work the function should be zero when t < 0. However, your function is not.
    I think you can modify the theorem somehow to apply for the function above. However, I have not done it yet.
    From the proof of the theorem here, you can see that the step with red arrow will only be right if a > 0.

Laplace.png

Yes, it is correct.