lamp to LED switch makes relay fail

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by FerventPiranha, May 1, 2012.

1. FerventPiranha

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 30, 2012
    First off, I'm pretty new to electronics, and no matter how I play with this circuit in Multisim I can't get it to work. A few months ago I got a little remote-controlled mouse cat toy, and I was bored, so I wired up some lamps to it for my cats to play with in the dark. I tapped into the battery for a constant hot, which feeds one set of lamps, then when the "go" button is pushed, it activates a SPDT (used as just a NC relay, all my local Radio Shack had that day) relay that swaps to the other set of lamps. The schematic is below. This is all fine and dandy, but I'm not comfortable with the cats potentially breaking the lamps.

So I swapped to LED lights, and now it doesn't work as intended. At least in the sims, that is. I don't want to work on the toy until I know what I do will work. It seems with the LEDs in the places of the bulbs, the relay never flips over. With the "switch" (Go button) on, both sets of LEDs light up, instead of just the one set. The constant-on ones are truly constantly on, the relay doesn't cut them out. I'm pretty sure my cats don't really care, but I want to get my project working as intended.

I've played with adding potentiometers in different parts of the circuit, trying to adjust the load, as well as a smattering of diodes, and nothing seems to work. I either get both sets on "Go" with the constants on otherwise, or just the "Go" lights on, and nothing on otherwise. I don't have the actual values of the LEDs I do have - they were just lying in a junk drawer from some other project long ago. The relay is part# 275-0248 from RadioShack. But, I'm still in the design stage, trying to figure out how to fix things.