Lady out of her depth

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by AllyLB, Oct 18, 2010.

1. AllyLB

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 18, 2010
    Hi, I'm sorry for posting here..but am really at my wits end.

I'm looking for help with my treadmill...and have been told it's a circuit board problem as the belt on the machine and motor move freely when pushed. The machine powers up, yet the motor won't start, a little box just clicks.

I realise this is such limited information, I'm not very technical minded, and my reason for desperately posting here is that I have no one to help me, my husband is in Afghanistan. I've spent the last few days on the internet looking for easy solutions, but nothing works.

It means so much to me to get this machine working, and any help would be really appreciated. If anyone lives local to me and would like a project?

Many thanks for reading, Ally
  2. beeson76

Apr 19, 2010
    If a little box just clicks, to me it sounds like a relay problem. The little white box on the board, it looks like a relay. It could be that that relay is "frozen--stuck."
  3. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    Careful in there, that 400V 470UF capacitor is probably charged which means that if you touch anything connected to it, which could be anywhere on the board, it will throw you across the room.
  4. sceadwian

Jun 1, 2009
    I don't know about throw you across the room, but it sure won't feel good, and it'll make one hell of a bang, shorted across your heart, it wouldn't be good... There's not going to be an easy solution for this one. Someone that has a detailed understanding of basic electronics would need to probe the circuit board, the relay could possibly be the problem but it's not likely a drop in fix and it could be any number of other things.

You haven't mentioned your location so there's no possibility of us even guessing at a 'local' solution. A decent electrician should be able to fix it, but a decent electrician will cost a bit.