LabVIEW or Visual C++

kevin.khan

Joined Jul 9, 2012
Hi there,

I need some advice from my fellow programmers. I currently work on a project that involved creating a USB controller board (USB protocol is handled using the UM232H module from FTDI). The controller card is used in an acquisition system, which contains 64 channels.

I have completed the hardware, but now the software needs to be attended to. I need to develop a GUI that should have a real time display (at least 32 channels need to displayed at a time), and should also support multithreading and multiprocessing.

Now I have to make a decision about which program language to use, LabVIEW or Visual C++. I have very little program experience either one, so I don't real know which one would be best to develop a GUI and also be able to display real time data and allow for multithreading and multiprocessing.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
I'm not familiar with LabView (isn't it basically drag-and-drop applications?) but using C++ isn't too hard for a low-level interface.

Personally, I would consider making a C++ interface, wrap it, and pass it along to a C# GUI that can be as fancy, or basic, as necessary...

kevin.khan

Joined Jul 9, 2012
I believe in LabVIEW functions are presented in blocks to form a block diagram (as opposed to text based programming).

Sorry to ask such an amateur question but why exactly would you wrap c++ interface and pass it along to a c# program. What advantages does c# have or c++.

Also do you know how easy it is to achieve multithreading or multiprocessing in c++.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
I remember someone once saying that LabView requires no programming knowledge to do anything... If you can rely on proprietary software, it may be the way to go...