Kudos offered, advice requested RE: Tektronics

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Cbntmkr, Mar 2, 2009.

1. Cbntmkr

Thread Starter Member

Mar 2, 2009
    first of all what a fabulous site. I've been studying electronics via online resources for several months and i have been going through the chapters here without looking up to see the forum button. So here i am!! I'm an enthusiast, playing with microprocessors (mostly by way of arduino ) reading up, and watching open courseware lectures from MIT. I would like to get an oscilloscope and have been drawn to the Tektronics offerings that i see on ebay. I'm wondering if i could get some guidance on what to look for. Models 465 & 468 were suggested as good all around scopes.. agreee? no?
    messing around with microprocessors i guess would be my primary interest...
    with that in mind, what should i look for or avoid?
    Thanks,
    Peter

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Depends on the price and your interests. I can recall when the 465 was the absolute top of the line, but that was 40 years ago. More than enough bandwidth for uC's, though.

Do not get drawn in to a 475, though - the one we had suffered from major switch problems. Really fine instrument in the years while it worked, though.

3. leftyretro

Nov 25, 2008
    Welcome to the hobby, it's wonderful isn't it? I have been playing with several Arduino modules lately and having a ball learning C.