Just a quick safety question after creating a small spark

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by BrainFog, Feb 22, 2011.

1. BrainFog

Thread Starter Member

Jan 24, 2011
    This may be an obvious or daft but it is about safety so I will consider it important enough to ask.

I am very new to electronics and am still working on my first project and getting through some electronics books. Lots of the parts that I ordered arrived today including a couple of transformers. As part of a quick experiment I decided to make a simple unregulated 12volt power supply; but, and here is where the stupidity comes in, I though it may have been a good idea to test the mains voltage as so many transformers have set specified input voltage rather than a ratio of the primary and secondary windings. Expecting to get a reading of 220-240v I decided to test the mains voltage, all I got was a nice spark. No harm was done, just lost a 10A multimeter fuse and a 3A plug fuse. Can I assume that it is important to never connect a multimeter to the mains? Does a transformer prevent this from happening not only because of low voltage but because of isolation? So it is 99% safe. What is the best way to prevent this in the future?

A thought occures, was my mistake because I slowly moved the multimeter to the connection from the plug rather than having it connected from the moment I flicked the power switch and by doing this I caused capacitance to build up between the connectors causing the spark before they met?

I do not want to risk myself or anything I intend to build. Thank you

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    It is more likely that you attempted to change ranges on the meter while the probes were connected, or you had the meter set to measure current or Ohms instead of the highest AC voltage range.

Don't attempt to measure mains current with a multimeter; you will blow the fuse nearly instantly - right after the probe tips get burned.