Jumper bypass - stuck on diodes

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by bobpombrio, Jul 21, 2016.

1. bobpombrio

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 7, 2014
    I am trying to bypass a set of fixed jumpers that will eventually be fired from a rotary switch. I've been messing around in Virtual Breadboard and have hit a wall. I am trying to have it that when the button is pressed that it only lights up the led, via the relay, that the wire goes to. Since I don't want reverse current flow I put each set of inputs on a diode. But nothing is working, I tried reversing the diodes with the same results. Without the diodes then everything lights up when any single button is pressed, because of the reverse current flow.

Help please! I'm not a EE or properly trained, I'm a software guy who is self taught on circuits.

[​IMG]

Thanks,
    Bob P.

PS. Oh I'm using the relays because they will complete a circuit when energized. The LED's are just for this testing.

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    You need to post a circuit diagram of what you are trying to do.

3. dl324

Distinguished Member

Mar 30, 2015
    Welcome to AAC!

Post a schematic of what you've breadboarded.

4. BobaMosfet

Jul 1, 2009
    In a schematic, it would make more sense to label the inductors as 'L1, L2, and L3' since 'L' is the letter for inductors (which is what a relay is in this case), whereas 'R' is for Resistors.

5. BobaMosfet

Jul 1, 2009
    The first mistake I see in your breadboard, is that one side of each LED isn't connected to anything other than the relay. The other side of the relay goes nowhere, so the LEDs will never light.

6. BR-549

Sep 22, 2013
    It's because the diodes are connected to the same point. Straddle the non relay side tie points.

Did I say that right?

7. bobpombrio

Apr 7, 2014
    Thanks for the labeling suggestions. The base layer is a breadboard so connections are made to the column. If I knew how to do a schematic I'd post that as well.