Joule Heating

etuzuner

Joined Mar 21, 2009
Hi,

I'm a grad student. I'm searching thermal effects on an oil immersed transformer. I took many courses about communication but I want to move on EM now. Here is my question: When I searched on internet, I've learned that the beginning for thermal effects is Joule Heating. I've been searching for a long time but I couldn't find anything useful. Maybe the problem is me, I don't know. If you can help me about this subject or give me any advice or something like that, I really appreciate.

Thanks for your interests,

Best Regards

Emre

etuzuner

Joined Mar 21, 2009
Dear t_n_k,

Actually I need some formulized equations. Do you know anything about these?

Best Regards,

Emre

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
I see.

There are obviously software tools that are used for transformer design and they are probably targeted at particular design areas - mains distribution, consumer electrical / electronics etc.

A casual scan on Google gave some typical commercial suppliers ....

http://www.softbitonline.com/transformerContents.html

http://www.rale.ch/

I'll have a look around and see if there are any other sources - perhaps a detailed text on practical transformer design might be readily available. I imagine transformer designers each have their own "rules of thumb" as well as particular design formulae.

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
I found some interesting chapter on transformers in the "Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers" by Fink et. al. Oil cooling is mentioned there.

As good a starting place as any I guess.

Some formulas are included but maybe not what you're seeking, exactly. As I suggested previously, they are perhaps more akin to "rules of thumb" - but well proven over many years of design experience.

loosewire

Joined Apr 25, 2008
You want find much on oil filled transfomers,they have not been used since epa restricted there use. Danger,fire explosion,deformed babies.
Companies can't get insurance.

loosewire