Issues with my circuit design.

Jemson

Joined Sep 1, 2011
Hi all,
I must point out that I am quite new to electronic design.
I have designed my first circuit with the help of a friend (who is now overseas), and I am having some issues.

It is a very small circuit for a micro controller to drive a relay for turning on/off an a fan in my computer room. The circuit works, but the transistors keeps burning out on the board. Once I replace it, it is ok for a short while then dies again. I am not sure if I got a dodgy batch of transistors or there is a problem with my circuit... If there is a problem in the circuit I am thinking it may be with the placement of D1, or R1 is not big enough but in reality, I am stumped!

I have attached a small design i sketched up in paint, i am still learning my way around LTspliceIV and this is all I could whip up in the short term.
I should also point out the ground is common between the 5v and 12v sources!

Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I will be only too happy to answer any questions you may have if additional info is required!

Attachments

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
What's the actual part# for D1? 1N4001? 1N4002? 1N4003? It should be 1N4004 or better. otherwise that may be your problem.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
well then in that case I'm out of ideas. Transistor & diode seems up to par. the way you've drawn it, seems it should work from what I see. Maybe check to make sure its actually wired the way you drew it (obligatory dummy check :)).

Jemson

Joined Sep 1, 2011
Yeah definitely checked and rechecked that.
The circuit actually works (for a while) then the transistor seems to die and I am stumped as to why... Replacing it fixes it for a while, before the next one goes :/

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010