Issues with JDM and other homebrew PIC programmers.

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by mikejp56, Aug 10, 2015.

1. mikejp56

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2015
    Hi All,
    Just a few thoughts about JDM and other homebrew PIC programmers.
    I have read on this forum where people should stay away from building their own programmers and buying a commercial product. The reasons given range from technical incompetence to figuring out how to use someone's DIY programming software.
    I have been an electrical engineer for over 30 years specializing in analog and digital design and prototyping. Hence I know my way around scopes and soldering irons. I just recently got involved playing around with PICs, and I needed to build a programmer. I decided on starting with a JDM programmer, and then working up to a USB PIC programmer. This made perfect sense because the project USB PICProg uses an 18F2550. However it needs to be programmed. So I started out with a serial port JDM programmer; 2 transistors and a handful of support components. It works like a champ. Also it was built correctly the first time. If someone is not paying attention, it is easy to miswire the transistors, swap ICSP leads, etc.
    Now granted this was a no brainer for me, but to call this simple class of programmers crap is, IMHO, not being fair.
    I had more problems with the software side than the hardware side; programmer type, config bits, registers, etc.
    My homebrew JDM has worked flawlessly for me while tinkering with the 12F683, and I am just waiting to get the parts needed to put together USB PICProg.
    Thanks for reading, and have a nice day!
    Regards,
    mikejp56

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    I just wonder there is sufficient advantage when the Pickit2/3 can be picked up cheap?
    Max.

3. mikejp56

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2015
    Hi Max,