Is this circuit safe? Canon 40D remote shutter

dsharlet

Joined Oct 15, 2013
I'm trying to build a controller for my Canon 40D camera. I studied EE in school, but now I do only DSP work, so my circuit design/analysis skills are very, very rusty/non-existent.

I have a PCF8574 controller that I want to have two of the pins drive the two circuits in the remote shutter. For more information about the camera circuit, see here: http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/eos_wired_remote/

I've built a circuit to control it:shutter.jpg

The PCF8574 outputs 0V or 5V on D0-D7. I use D0 and D1 to control the two functions.
The transistors are 2N3904.
The resistors are 6.8M.
The black box poorly wired to the breadboard is a 2.5mm stereo phone jack that I connect the camera to.

The motivation for selecting these components was that I wanted the current through CE to be 68 uA (per the short circuit current from the camera circuit), so BE should be ~.68 uA, which gives roughly 6.8 MOhm for a 5V (-0.7V for the transistor)

I checked it out pretty thoroughly with a multi-meter and batteries before connecting it to my devices, and it all looked good. It also does actually work (despite the minor annoyance that the initial state of the pins is 5V, not 0V), and when I plug it into the device I'm controlling it with, it reports no increased power consumption.

Despite all that, I'm still paranoid that it might be putting my devices in danger. What do you think?

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The base resistors are way too high in value. 2.2K to 10K would be more like it... If the camera is designed to be switched with a dead short (switch), then you want the Collector-to-Emitter to be as close to a dead short as possible, so the transistor needs to be saturated, hence the Base current needs to be enough to accomplish that...

dsharlet

Joined Oct 15, 2013