Is there a solid state single circuit way to cycle polarity?

masked

Joined Jul 1, 2010
Hi all,

My project right now is a simple setup: Three 9v batteries and a 2.64mA current limiting diode all in series. (Okay, sometimes I also add various anode/cathode pairs and the occasional light bulb or ammeter.)

What I'd like to do is have it automatically reverse the anode and cathode every minute or so. I'm familiar with *mechanical* relays and DPDT switches, but as far as solid-state electronics goes I'm a newbie who's thus far just made up my theory as I repair one bad part of a circuit that someone already designed and built for me.

I've seen some similar posts but they all involve mechanical objects bumping into toggle switches.

In theory, it seems like I should be able to wire up a 1-minute bistable 555 chip to a DPDT relay which goes to my cathode and anode.
However, since the main circuit is 27V I'm assuming that I'll need to isolate a second lower voltage circuit for the timer... and I have no idea how that will affect my overall output.

So my questions are:
Is this the right approach?
Is there a solid-state (non-relay) way to do this within one 27Vcircuit?

Advance Thank Yous,
-masked

masked

Joined Jul 1, 2010
Thanks so much! :)
You solved the larger problem of my not knowing what it is that I don't know. Knowing what to look for makes a huge difference.

Since my last post I'd stumbled onto 4060b counters and read up, but this looks like what I needed!

thanks again,
-masked

masked

Joined Jul 1, 2010
Hi All,

I know TexasTony posted an almost identical topic, but I think I'm still failing to understand how to choose my resistors for this h-bridge.

I've spent days building and simulating dozens of H-Bridge circuits, and I keep running into the same problem.
I've tried the dual and single pole Tilden style drivers at http://faq.solarbotics.net/BiomechMotorBridges.html