Is it possible to rewire Denon DRA-295 from 110V to 220V? Pics attached.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by drabina, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. drabina

    drabina Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    NJ
    I have US version of Denon DRA-295 stereo receiver. Soon I will be moving back to Europe and would like to know if this receiver can be rewired for 220V. Here are the pictures of the transformer:

    pic 1
    pic 2
    pic 3
    pic 4
    pic 5
    pic 6
    pic 7
    pic 8

    Thanks.
  2. bertus

    bertus Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    12,446
    Location:
    Amsterdam,Holland (GMT + 1)
    Hello,

    Do you have the schematic of this amplifier?
    In the schematics there should be more info on it.

    Greetings,
    Bertus
  3. drabina

    drabina Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    NJ
    No, I do not have the schematics. I have to go by pictures only unless somebody knows where I could download schematic for my receiver.
  4. retched

    retched AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,198
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
  5. drabina

    drabina Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    NJ
    I rather rewire this one or find one that I can rewire. Somehow, I do not like the extra box next to the receiver. I used one that supported 1600W and it was humming like crazy. Sure 1600W is overkill for 100W receiver but the one you linked to will probably be too small anyway.
  6. retched

    retched AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,198
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    True, one transformer would be better than two. (one on the wall and one in the receiver) But, the amount of EMF put out by that 1600w converter would give you tons of hum.
    If you used a properly rated wall converter for the job, you should have considerably less, if any hum. You could also get a 50hz noise suppressor and clip it on the power line from the wall to the receiver. That would kill it. Also, get one for audio that contains shielding.

    then again, re-transformering (if thats a word) is starting to sound better.

    Audioguru, any suggestions?

    [ed]
    These handle from 100 to 5000 watts: (the 200w is $9.99us)
    http://www.220-electronics.com/Transformers/trans/stepdown.htm
    [/ed]
  7. drabina

    drabina Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    NJ
    Thanks to all who replied.

    I have one more question: When using the transformer (220V->110V) vs properly rated receiver (220V) is the power consumption higher, lower or the same? I am just curious.
  8. peranders

    peranders Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden
    It seems that the transformer has only two wires at the primary side which means only one voltage also. Sorry.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat what will be possible cause of electronic choke of flourscent tube not to work Jun 28, 2014
General Electronics Chat No power to DJ Mixer - Possible blown SMD fuse? Dec 22, 2013
General Electronics Chat USB charger - possible to flip live and neutral wires? Dec 18, 2013
General Electronics Chat Component identification help if possible ! Nov 19, 2013
General Electronics Chat Is it possible to power two 300 amp alternators with one 20HP Motor? Oct 9, 2013

Share This Page