IR Sensor for LED Lightbox Artwork Questions

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by wattsDXB, Mar 26, 2015.

1. wattsDXB

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 8, 2015
    Hi All,
    I was very glad to find this forum as someone who is very new to building electronics from scratch! I am an artist and have previously disassembled solar-powered garden lights for my work, but am now trying to create lightboxes that will react to the viewer as they approach the wall-mounted piece by lighting up in a way that increases with proximity. After various attempts (and a fair share of burnt components :)) I think I have the design I want to use. This functions pretty much as I need, aside from a few issues mentioned below. The box is designed for interior spaces and is planned for gallery or private homes. This led to the decision to use a rechargeable 9V battery, rather than 4AAs (easier to change), but I am still not certain this is optimal.

The reason I am posting is to ask a few questions and see if anyone might have suggestions for improvements. I'm hoping that listing my questions numerically might make it easier, as there do seem to be quite a few... Thank you so much for looking at my post and please do let me know if you have any suggestions at all or need any additional info. (PS: sorry for the hand-drawn diagram- I hope it is clear enough!)

1) Is the 9V rechargeable battery the best to use? I am using a 5V regulator to step down voltage, which seems wasteful. Is there a more optimized solution that is easily rechargeable? The current setup only runs for a bit over 2 hours at full load (lights on). Although this should be fine in a gallery or home each day, I'd rather get more out of it if possible. I am trying to avoid the need to plug this in to run, although plugging in to charge would be excellent as the battery could stay in the box.

2) Should I have resistors or diodes anywhere on this to protect components?

3) Is 22 AWG wire ok for this?