IR distance sensor

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Hi guys,

An IR distance sensor is to be made to measure distance from a wall (up to 30cm).

What IR emitter and IR receiver do you suggest, narrow or wide angle?

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Are you measuring intensity or using triangulation?

Have you seen the Sharp GP2D12 group of sensors?

John
I am measuring intensity.

Yes, I have seen them but their response is quite slow, fastest is about 50Hz. I want samples at 1kHz.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I suspect when you are measuring intensity, for best accuracy, you want a collimated beam. For the detector, I suspect a narrow aperture, slit, or some other way to limit extraneous light would be best (analogous to eliminating "stray light" in absorption spectroscopy). I have no experience in using intensity for distance determination.

Vishay makes analog detectors. In case you haven't seen them, here is a link:

http://www.vishay.com/company/press/releases/2010/100628irsensors/

John

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
I suspect when you are measuring intensity, for best accuracy, you want a collimated beam. For the detector, I suspect a narrow aperture, slit, or some other way to limit extraneous light would be best (analogous to eliminating "stray light" in absorption spectroscopy). I have no experience in using intensity for distance determination.

Vishay makes analog detectors. In case you haven't seen them, here is a link:

http://www.vishay.com/company/press/releases/2010/100628irsensors/

John
Their response is slower than Sharp's sensors!

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
300 µS (3.3 KHz) is slow? I don't think you are going to do much better than that with commercial IR, unless you go with straight carrier wave.

John

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
300 µS (3.3 KHz) is slow? I don't think you are going to do much better than that with commercial IR, unless you go with straight carrier wave.

John
Where do you see that 300us?