IR 2110 get damaged when connected to trafo

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by iyunxpenxhunx, May 30, 2016.

1. iyunxpenxhunx

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 17, 2016
    Hi, I'm a newbie here
    I have a project to make an inverter using uC and H-Bridge Mosfet by IR2110 driver and step up the voltage using power trafo.
    Before I connect the circuit to the trafo, the output seems well, and the circuit work well. But when I connect H-Bridge output to trafo, the circuit get damage, actually IR2110.

I attached my circuit

Sorry for my bad english
    I really really appreciate for your help
    Thank you

Note : I increase the bootstrap cap by pararelling 10uF so the bootstrap cap value is 14.7uF

2. HW-nut

May 12, 2016
    It does not look like the design will prevent turning on the high and low side mosfets at the same time. This would destroy the device quickly. This may be occurring during the MPu reset cycle before the I/o is configured. I did not check your specific micro, but it's very common for all of the I/o pins to be on figured as inputs with a soft pull-up after reset. For your design, this would destroy the mosfets. Verify the I/o state after reset on the micro after reset and add some pull-down resistors to the micro outputs as needed.

3. iyunxpenxhunx

Jan 17, 2016
    I have add some deadtime to prevent turning the Hi and Lo for the same time
    Can you tell me what is the function of pull down resistor to the uC output?
    Thank you for your reply

4. HW-nut

May 12, 2016
    The MPU will go through cycle after power-on for a short time (<10 msec, depends on micro). During the reset cycle, the MPU I/O will be configured for the reset state which is common to be an input with a soft internal pull-up. This causes the I/O signals to go high causing the mosfet damage. The pull-down resistors terminate the inputs low during reset which keeps all the outputs low.

5. tcmtech

Nov 4, 2013