Interpret data from Solar Panel tests...

Cape_WP15

Joined May 20, 2016
Hello All, …total beginner here.

I am trying to learn about solar panels in preparation for a couple of simple (I think) projects with solar powered fans.

I have acquired an old EICO Model 1100 resistance box with which I have tested the two PV panels throughout the entire resistance range. I’ve compiled a data set and plotted the numbers. I am including two shared Google sheets with test results …hope the forum allows these links.

My solar panels are from:

1) A Nicro solar ventilator fan:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1sTGbfulNMjlSczh41CnvqKZIh2oLEzL4W9lzz5GuCA4/edit?usp=sharing

2) A portable solar phone charger (with a USB output plug):

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-xh8FD2oyS8ByOojxt8elXGWeNlY1QXGOYuIyxhgQz0/edit?usp=sharing

My goal right now is to be sure I can interpret the test values in the right way. If I get this accomplished, I will go forward with the next steps of the project.

The Nicro test results (in sunlight) are the most confusing to me. It seems that the numbers indicate the maximum output of about .2 Watts and .12 Amps at around 1.8v.

On the one hand, this just seems like such small numbers! OTOH, this PV cell was originally supposed to spin a tiny fan motor (which can spin up with only 30mAmp), and to direct excess current into recharging a 1.2v 2000mAh NiCad battery that requires 200mA to get recharged (over 14-16hrs). So, then, with .12Ams > 230mAmps, it looks like the Nicro PV cell does have the appropriate output. I don’t know, …I just don’t have enough experience to be sure I am interpreting all the data correctly.

On the USB charger, the maximum power of 1.15W and current of .22 Amps seems so far off the advertised max output of 5 watts and 1 amp. But the max volts of 7v are above the advertised 5v. Again, I am just not sure I am interpreting everything correctly.

Please help me make sense!

--
Michael

ronv

Joined Nov 12, 2008