Interfacing hall-effect sensor to embedded CPU

stube40

Joined Feb 3, 2010
I'm trying to interface an Allegro A1360 half-effect sensor to a TI MSP430 CPU.

The A1360 is a 5V device whilst the MSP430 operates from a 1.8V to 3.6V supply. The MSP430 has onboard ADC, but the analog input pins have an absolute max rating of VCC + 0.3V.

I have both 3.3V and 5V regulators on my PCB design and I'm assuming that I'll need some opamps or something to interface between the MSP430 CPU and the A1360 sensor.

I'm still fairly new to electronics design and I'm looking for advice as to a good way to interface these two devices.

Last edited:

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
It depends on your application of the hall effect output.

If you just need to sense presence and nothing else, a simple resistive divider should suffice. More info please.

stube40

Joined Feb 3, 2010
I will be measuring the voltage output of the A1360 using the MSP430's internal ADC in order to evaluate the current flowing through a cable - the A1360 slots into a ring concentrator that encircles a cable that will be carrying several 100s of amps.

I'm not sure what the maximum output of the A1360 will be at this stage as I'm not sure what the ring concentrator looks like yet, so I need to assume that I may have to read the full 5V output.

I'm only making a handful of these and they will be individually calibrated.

stube40

Joined Feb 3, 2010
Doesn't the hall sensor already have an open-drain output?
I don't know..........

"open-drain" is a term I've heard alot since I've been working with embedded CPUs, but I've never fully understood the meaning of it. I'm just about to pull out Horrowitz and Hill to see if it can enlighten me!

In the meantime, the data sheet shows an internal functional block diagram which shows two series op-amps on the output. It also describes "output source current 3mA" and "output sink current 10mA" in the absolute max ratings section.