Interface a vibration sensor with a microcontroller

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by tomega3, May 15, 2012.

1. tomega3

tomega3 Thread Starter New Member

Hi All,
    I am a software programmer with just enough knowledge to be dangerous when it comes to electronic circuits. I did electronics 25 years ago and have been doing only software since 1990. I found the arduino uno at radio shack and decided to see what I can do with it....

So, I built a vibration sensor as listed here:
    http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=46948&highlight=piezo 555&page=3

I added a Set/Reset latch to the output of the 555 and a power on reset ckt for the 555 and the latch. The latch remembers that the 555 saw the vibration. The power on reset ckt has a NO switch to reset both the 555 and the latch.

I now want to interface the output of the latch to an input pin on a microcontroller (arduino uno) and have an output on the microcontroller replace the NO switch so as to perform a Reset of the sensor circuit.

The vibration sensor is powered by is own 9v battery and is isolated from the +v and gnd of the microcontroller. The microcontroller is powered by 5 volts. The microcontrollers Serial lines RX and TX are connected to a 16 x 2 serial lcd.
    Then sensor will be 25 yards away from the microcontroller.

Goal: Have an output from microcontroller replace the NO switch and an input to read the state (high, low) of the latch.

I have been reading that I should consider using an optoisolater (4N36 or PS2501) to ensure voltage and gnd isolation and a Mosfet (2N7000) to replace the NO Reset Switch. I am not sure if I need a Mosfet on the microcontroller side to read the output of the isolated latch and or need a Mosfet on the output of the latch to drive the optoisolator since the distance between the sensor and the microcontroller is over 50 feet.

Can anyone suggest an interface circuit to a accomplish my goal?
    A schematic with part numbers would be great.