Instrumentation amplifiers - what's the difference between models?

summersab

Joined Apr 8, 2010
I'm thinking of getting an instrumentation amplifier for a project of mine involving load cells. My question is thus: what is the difference between the multiple amplifiers? There's a slough of INAxxx models by TI, many more by other manufacturers, etc. Some are low power, and I take that to mean supply power, but does that make a difference? What's a general, single-amplifier IC package that is pretty cheap and most frequently used?

My background is mechanical engineering, so feel free to talk stupid to me :)

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
This post seems to be related to your other thread - http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=38198&page=6

One way to see some of the differences is to take a look at the parametric data. Of course there is a slew of them - the differences are often pretty significant.

I would suggest that you may need to find out some more detail about your strain gauges. Crushing with vice grips is not a successful mode of operation.

summersab

Joined Apr 8, 2010
@beenthere, not intending to be attacking, but you misunderstand what I was doing with the strain gauges because you didn't read the rest of my post (though I didn't expect you to since it IS 6 pages long). I mistyped - I wasn't crushing the strain gauges. I have load cells from a scale and was applying force to the load cells with vice grips. No harm there. Sorry to branch a thread like that. I was hoping to get a quick answer without the confusion of the previous 6 pages of my post.

Since I don't get what "minimum offset current" and other lingo means, really, any suggestions on a general-purpose amplifier? My electronics coursework ended with Circuits 2, those datasheets are really way over my head. How are the INA114, INA126, and INA129 different, for example (other than some are more expensive)?

Thanks for your patience. Seriously.