Infrared "Shooting Gallery" for Wild West Birthday Party

slickwillie

Joined Apr 6, 2016
My daughter's 6th birthday is coming up and the theme is the Wild West.

I'd like to make a "shooting gallery" which uses an IR gun to shoot targets. The targets would have IR sensors, and when struck, would do something (fall down, light up, etc.).

For simplicity purposes, I was thinking of using a repurposed TV remote control as the IR source for the "gun". For the targets, my limited research has led me to using TSOP1738 sensors as the "targets".

Note, that I have zero experience with IR, and limited experience with circuit design.

I purchased what I thought were TSOP1738 sensors online as well as an assortment of 3mm and 5mm LED's that came with resistors. It turns out, the sensors were SM0038's (which I think are essentially the same thing, they seem to function the same way at least?).

Following schematics I found elsewhere online, I was able to cobble together an SM0038, an LED (with resistor), and a 5V power source. The LED lit up continuously as I expected, then when I aimed a TV remote at the SM0038, the LED flickered.

It's my understanding that the SM0038/TSOP1738 (when powered) delivers from its output pin whatever voltage it's receiving. When it's hit by 38kHz IR, it drops that voltage to zero. The TV remote delivers 38kHz, but in "bursts" which is why the LED appears to "flicker".

For the shooting gallery, I'd like to design a target that when shot by an IR light flips a relay. The relay would make something mechanical happen (perhaps releasing a spring-loaded latch so that the target folds down on itself).

I've read that I might be able to use a BC547 or BC557 to trigger the relay. My problem is that I think the TSOP1738 would make the relay "chatter" so quickly that a mechanical device would not have time to release.