Inductors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by 76nemo, Nov 10, 2010.

1. 76nemo

Thread Starter Member

Aug 2, 2008
    Please forgive me, I am an electrician who started off on a bench,...electronics.

I am wrapping my little tiny brain around something I don't comprehend. We have this motor controller at work with failing chokes on them and I don't have the means to copy and paste or draw a schematic.

We're having this trouble I have seen before, but not to this extent.

I am trying to relate inductance vs. resistance. This coil is supposed to read 1.8uH/Ls and 7.4Ω Rs. We've seen high failure rates where the coils read low on Ls, and fine is Rs. The faults I find are find mostly low in Rs and spot on in Ls. I found a coil today reading 314.07uH in Ls, and 6.08 Rs. I have NEVER seen readings like that in Ls/Rs relationship. I'm using an HP LSR meter which is spot on.

I have never run into chokes causing this type of trouble. Just taking into equation this one coil in particular,....how can it be 314uH, and Rs of 6.08??????

It's not damaged in any way. Most of the time the GenRad will catch it, sometimes they get through to functional test where the motor won't even bump let alone start. I will try to post a partial schematic tomorrow.

Not posting a schematic and throwing out such a general question, I feel ridiculous. I apologize.

Anyone care to take a stab?

2. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010
    Sounds to me as if you've received a bad run of inductors, do you have any new ones you can go through and compare quite a few?

3. DonQ

May 6, 2009
    How about a shorted turn(s)? If the tester measures dI/dt to infer the inductance, this might give the excessive uH. It would also lower the resistance by the shorted turn(s) not contributing to the resistance reading.

4. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Nothing to do with the problem, but have you calibrated your LCR meter?