Inductors,Chokes & Capacitors

Lucky13

Joined Dec 29, 2008
Hello everyone, this is my first post and I am very new to electronics, so be a little easy if my questions is way off base.

I was reading some info that was explaining Inductors and it made this statement

"
Inductor (coil)

An inductor is a coil of wire which may have a core of air, iron or ferrite (a brittle material made from iron). Its electrical property is called inductance and the unit for this is the henry, symbol H. 1H is very large so mH and µH are used, 1000µH = 1mH and 1000mH = 1H. Iron and ferrite cores increase the inductance. Inductors are mainly used in tuned circuits and to block high frequency AC signals (they are sometimes called chokes). They pass DC easily, but block AC signals, this is the opposite of capacitors.

For some reason I don't really understand this statement that is underlined & in bold type. Well then I started researching info about capacitors and I really got confused. Statements like there behavior in AC or DC circuit just made it even worse for me. The statement above really gets me because (remember I am new to electronics) I have built a few simple power supples for CNC machines using a transformer, rectifier and capacitor. If a capacitors blocks DC voltage how does it work in a power supply like this?

As far as I knew up to this point a capacitor was a storage tank, the bigger it was the more current it would hold, the high the voltage rating the more voltage it could hold up to. I know there is more to them than that but it looks like I don't understand the way they really work, and how they function.

Is there anything anyone could explain that might help me with this. Of course just pointing me to info would be great, but a little discussion about the subject would be great.

Jess

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
I'm squeezing two to four hours of lecture into a couple paragraphs here, so please bear with me...