inductive proximity sensor speed of detection issue

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Pushkar Nigam, Jun 14, 2016.

1. Pushkar Nigam

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 14, 2016
    Hi guys i am a hobbyist electronic engineer trying to make an inductive sensor.
    i have used the attached schematic and am successful in getting the change in the voltage on the output of the transistor but the soeed of detection is an issue for me.
    At the moment the speed of detection about 3 seconds before the voltage settles.
    Any help would be much appreciated on the topic

i am attaching the schematic for you guys in here
    Thanks very much

2. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    Hmmm... I suspect we need to know what the PIC firmware is doing to understand what is going on.

3. Pushkar Nigam

Jun 14, 2016
    hi Albert.

The PIC is just providing the square wave and reading that ADC value. If you want to even eliminate the PIC for now you can . Just think that frequency is being sent by a function generator. The change in the voltage on the ADC pin is still very slow. I think it points towards the hardware. But still if you are suspicious i will be happy to share the the PIC firmware as well.

4. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    OK - If I understand this correctly then the ADC voltage falls when something is detected. On the output there is a 2M2 and 0u1 which has a time constant of 0.22S. For that to settle might take 10 time constants -> 2.2S and we are close to your 3 seconds. As an experiment try making the resistor lower, say 220K and see what happens.

5. Pushkar Nigam

Jun 14, 2016
    yes you are correct the voltage output falls when something is detected. The resistor and the cap are a peak detector circuit actually as you can see.
    I was measuring the change in the voltage on the output of the diode. It changes but slowly.
    So i am inclined to think that the peak detector circuit is not the problem. but something else is.
    Do i explain myself well?