Inaccurate delay for XC8

Danilo H. Mariano Jr

Joined May 23, 2015
I'm new to mplab and xc8.. my codes works fine except for the delay, here are my codes..

Code:
#include<pic.h>
#include "PIC16F84A.h"
/*
#include <xc.h>

// #pragma config statements should precede project file includes.
// Use project enums instead of #define for ON and OFF.

// CONFIG
#pragma config FOSC = XT        // Oscillator Selection bits (XT oscillator)
#pragma config WDTE = OFF       // Watchdog Timer (WDT disabled)
#pragma config PWRTE = OFF      // Power-up Timer Enable bit (Power-up Timer is disabled)
#pragma config CP = OFF         // Code Protection bit (Code protection disabled)
#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000*/

void delay(){
    for(int i = 0;i<20;i++)
        __delay_ms(50);
        ;
}
void main(){
    TRISB&=~0x01;
    PORTB&=~0x01;
    while(1){
    RB0=~RB0;
    delay();

}

}
i want to blink an led for 1 sec but it blinks greater than the delay i want..any help would be appreciated,,Thank you

Moderators note: Please use code tags for pieces of code

Last edited by a moderator:

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
You need to #define _XTAL_FREQ to the oscillator frequency.

Did you comment out the XC8-specific code and use a different compiler?

Also, please use [ code][ /code] tags when posting code.

Danilo H. Mariano Jr

Joined May 23, 2015
by the way..
under #include "PIC16F84A.h" are the following codes

Code:
#include <xc.h>
// CONFIG
#pragma config FOSC = XT // Oscillator Selection bits (XT oscillator)
#pragma config WDTE = OFF // Watchdog Timer (WDT disabled)
#pragma config PWRTE = OFF // Power-up Timer Enable bit (Power-up Timer is disabled)
#pragma config CP = OFF // Code Protection bit (Code protection disabled)
#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
by the way..
under #include "PIC16F84A.h" are the following codes

Code:
#include <xc.h>
// CONFIG
#pragma config PWRTE = OFF // Power-up Timer Enable bit (Power-up Timer is disabled)