In Car Led Scrolling sign net

robbo75

Joined Sep 7, 2015
Evening All,

I wonder if you can help me?

I am a motor sports marshall and frequently have to use my car to either fend off or as a warning vehicle.

I would like to put together an LED net scrolling sign for the rear windscreen. I have seen one online that a chap has put together himself, but there are not really any instructions.

Do you think this is something that could be put together by a complete novice such as myself? I have pretty much zero experience in electronics!

thanks in advance for your advice.

Robin

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
A scrolling sign is probably too ambitious as, apart from developing the electronics hardware, you would have to learn to program a micro-controller. If the sign does not need to scroll and you just need to display a very limited number of static messages then it is possible.

robbo75

Joined Sep 7, 2015
A scrolling sign is probably too ambitious as, apart from developing the electronics hardware, you would have to learn to program a micro-controller. If the sign does not need to scroll and you just need to display a very limited number of static messages then it is possible.
thanks Blocco. i'll have a think about it

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
thanks Blocco. i'll have a think about it
Essentially, it's just a case of figuring out what you need and working out the most economical way to display that information by arranging the LEDs on a board. It sounds very low-tech (and it is) but I often see this approach used on LED road signs that are required to display a limited amount of information; perhaps 2 or 3 states. If you need some of them to flash, that should also be achievable for a novice.

Last edited:

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012