impulse heat sealer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by simf14, Nov 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simf14

Thread Starter Active Member

Jul 27, 2007
    Hello Kind Sirs:
    I am an absolute beginner and need help designing a circuit that will power 50" of 18g nichrome wire to heat seal polyethylene bags. My understanding is that the wire on typical heat sealer is heated by an impulse of electricity, rather than constantly staying hot. This prevents the bags from melting.

Any help would be so appreciated!!
    Thank you
    Curtis

Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  2. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    What is the resistance of the 50" of wire?

The ones I've worked with would start heating once the lever was moved from straight up, heating through the stroke, and when the conveyor belt pulled it free, the lever was let up.

Unsure if there was temperature compensation on the heated wires or not. One was for sealing, other was to cut about 1/4" beyond at a higher temp to cut.

3. simf14

Jul 27, 2007
    it has to be done by a timed impulse for precise strength of welding of the plastic. To cut then any constant heat is used.

resistance is .400 ohms per ft of 18g NiCr wire
    6.5 amps is needed to heat 18g wire to 600 degrees
    http://www.wiretron.com/nicrdat.html

4. simf14

Jul 27, 2007
    here is a circuit I found on the net but I am not sure how to modify it for my larger and longer heating element.

5. JDT

Feb 12, 2009
    If what you say is true (sounds right) that the wire has a resistance of 0.4Ω and needs 6.5A of heating current then Ohms law tells us that you need:-
    0.4 x 6.5 = 2.6V to drive it. It will need 6.5 x 2.6 = 16.9W of power.