Improving power factor

cells

Joined Oct 19, 2008
Improving power factor

Hello. I have a devise (an ice cream machine but just think of it as a big motor) which uses 1100 watts at 240 volts. So it should draw 4.6 amps if the power factor was good however the manufacturers seem to have built it in a way where the power factor is terrible. It actually draws closer to 8.5 amps and has a power factor of around 0.55

This high amp draw is causing me problems as I have one line powering three of these devises so the amp draw is around 24 amps while the line has a trip at I think 20 amps so it is tripping. As such I can only use two of these machines at once.

So I have two choices. Install an additional new line (cost and time) or try to improve the very poor PF of the devises.

So any ideas on how I can improve the PF without opening up the machines and soldering on an appropriate capacitor? I am not confident to do that as I am no electrician and only know a little about electronics from A-level classes a long time ago.

Is there any off the shelf solution which are plug and play for this type of problem?

Any help appreciated

cells

Joined Oct 19, 2008
I was thinking would a transformer help/work?

Could I get a 240 volt to 240 volt transformer and would that stop the phase shift?

So although the units would still have a poor power factor that will only be to the new transformer and the limited line behind the new transformer should have a PF of 1??

Does that sound correct?

As you can tell I am no expert I just know a little from school physics classes many years ago.

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
I don't think there is an off the shelf solution. Adding another transformer will only decrease the power factor.
I would say the best thing to do is to add another power line, or buy newer machines that use less power.

cells

Joined Oct 19, 2008
I think I may have found a solution